Slice of Life 11 of 31

Baking Gluten Free

One of my favorite things to bake is sweet loaves of bread, like banana nut bread or blueberry oat loaf. I enjoy baking these kinds of breads because I love to eat them! And also because I really want to bake French bread, but the process, as mentioned last week, is very intimidating. Baking is a part of my life, and I find lots of enjoyment from making the dish to sharing and eating it, which is why when I found out I was gluten intolerant  at the age of 32 I was rather distressed.

At first I denied my intolerance and would eat gluten anyway, but then I started to pay attention to what foods had gluten. It was hard to change my diet according to my intolerance because bread is a staple food for me. In part, I was raised on toast and sandwiches, and after 32 years it was going to be super tough for me to just stop eating toast and sandwiches.

Trying all different kinds of gluten free bread was a nasty process, until I listened to a friend of mine and tried Udi’s. I was overjoyed! Udi’s is a brand that makes gluten free bread that tastes normal, toasted or not. I also found out about gluten free flours and my mum and I tried several until my friend (same friend) introduced me to Bob’s Red Mill gluten free flour! 

With this flour I make all my bread, cakes, pastries, pies, and any recipe that calls for flour to make the product gluten free. I have had success with the flour and like Udi’s it tastes great! So if any of you are out there and have just found out you are gluten intolerant Udi’s and Bob’s Red Mill products are the way to go. Since not eating gluten I have more energy, and I feel happier.

 

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life 11 of 31

  1. These are great discoveries! How lucky that you’ve found them so that you can have your comfort food and keep feeling well at the same time. I’m not gluten intolerant, but I’m going to look for Bob’s Red Mill flour to add to my shopping list when I want to bake for my gluten-free-needing friends!

Leave a Reply

