Slice of Life 22 of 31

Teaching Reflection

I love being a teacher. I’m not too keen on the alarm at 5:35am Mon-Fri, but once I get over that I remember I have a great job, and I get to share laughter with teenagers all day long. I enjoy what I do because it’s a service for our society, because of the joy I feel when I get to laugh throughout my day and talk about stuff I love and know. I love to share how much I can love a book with my students, and how I will cry at the end of certain books every.single.time. I know the kids appreciate me for everything I am and for everything I’m not.

I teach mainly because I wanted to make my parents proud, I wanted to work with words instead of numbers, as well as work in a field of good service to society, and finally because working with children is a lot of fun. The kids are always drawn to the bright side of things, if left to their own devices they will find play and proceed to enjoy playing. Kids are great to be around, and we get to laugh in my classroom every single day.

To be honest, not paying some kind of service to my society wouldn’t sit right with me – living my life without helping those less fortunate than me seems erroneous. Not that I’m incredibly wealthy or anything, but I had a great childhood and I was loved and cared for and still am – some kids I teach have nothing, and I feel I have to give them my love, laughter, and positivity. I’m grateful to do this job – I get a sense of peace from the profession, especially when I teach through my heart and not through my ego. During graduation I cry a whole bunch – seeing the ones who almost didn’t make it walk across that stage is incredibly moving.

20130320-111518.jpg

6 thoughts on “Slice of Life 22 of 31

  1. Your desire to serve is noble. And the teaching profession is a great profession to give back. Thanks for reminding me of the importance of service and its link to teaching.

  2. Wow! I’m so impressed by your self presence, your dedication, and your motivation. Best wishes on your continued success in this vocation, demanding but rewarding in so many ways. Keep on Teaching!

  3. Teachers like you are what make students keep coming back for more. They know you care and want the best for them. I like that you felt you needed to be in a service to others. I was the same way. I could not think of having a job where I was not helping others. I am retired now…but when I read posts like yours…I am so glad that there are people like you teaching our children.
    Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

